Media City – Contact Sheets

Once I had returned from the Media Rooms the first thing I did with the images was to create a contact sheet. Due to the high number of images I took the contact sheet ran to 4 pages. From these 4 pages of images I narrowed down the choices to use here to 5.

Contact Sheet from the images taken at NCS Media City

Contact Sheet from the images taken at NCS Media City

The first 8 images were all very similar. These were the first shots I took and was getting a feel for the lighting and shutter speed I would  need and the two subjects were getting used to me taking their picture. The first image I chose was number 1973. I felt that the two students had relaxed and were now busily playing with the controls and this gave a more natural expression

Contact Sheet 2 from the images taken at NCS Media City

Contact Sheet 2 from the images taken at NCS Media City

I rejected the next few images as I was never quite happy with the angle, the computer monitor on the left was intrusive or the subjects arm obscured the view to much. I preferred the last image on page 1 and the first image on page 2, the angle was better and I liked the hands in the foreground. I chose image 1986 because the subject was using both hands on the controls.

Contact Sheet 3 from the images taken at NCS Media City

Contact Sheet 3 from the images taken at NCS Media City

Contact Sheet 4 from the images taken at NCS Media City

Contact Sheet 4 from the images taken at NCS Media City

Once I got into the recording studio I got a couple of images with the two people in there before ending up with the same two subjects again. I did take a few shots of the first two but because of the lower light levels I was unable to get a fast enough shutter speed and although I increased the ISO the two subjects left before I could shoot them again. There were some more environmental images from here but I wanted at least one image where the subject was looking at the camera. I had two images that met this requirement and I chose image 2009 because I thought the students smile was better.

I then headed into the main classroom area where there were numerous students at work. I took a few images of different people but I decided on images 2018 and 2025. The first worked well because it combined an instrument being played and the student using a computer and the other image showed a general view of the class as a whole.

